只需一步,快速开始

查看: 2199|回复: 1

[基础理论] 《湍流研究的黄金时代》

[复制链接]
发表于 2005-6-21 22:34 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式

马上注册,结交更多好友,享用更多功能,让你轻松玩转社区。

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有账号?我要加入

x
<a href="http://www.chalmers.se/HyperText/Prof-E/George-E.html" target="_blank" >http://www.chalmers.se/HyperText/Prof-E/George-E.html</A> <BR><BR>转贴前沿:这是我读过的关于湍流研究最honest,也最ambitious的文章。原文较<BR>长,不过先摘录文中最后一段中的一句话让大家听听什么叫真正的牛气冲天:<BR>I have been a full professor for 20 years in the USA, so I did not come to <BR>Sweden to BECOME a professor. I came to Sweden because I thought I <BR>could be a better professor. <BR><BR><BR>--------------------------------<BR>Turbulence <BR><BR>William K. George has been appointed Professor of Turbulence at <BR>Chalmers University of Technology from September 5, 2000.<BR>He was born in Camp Shelby, Mississippi in 1945. He graduated from <BR>Cambridge, Maryland High School, in 1963 as valedictorian. He received <BR>his BES and PhD degrees in 1967 and 1971 respectively from the Johns <BR>Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. He joined the faculty of the <BR>Pennsylvania State University in 1968 and left in 1974 for the State <BR>University of New York at Buffalo, where he has been a Chair Professor <BR>since 1980. <BR>He has authored several hundred papers, mostly on turbulence and its <BR>applications, and is a fellow of the American Physical Society/Division of <BR>Fluid Dynamics. He is known for his work on both theoretical and <BR>experimental turbulence. His contributions range from measurements in <BR>gas turbines and automotive components, to fundamental studies of <BR>turbulent shear and wall-bounded flows. He has supervised 16 PhD <BR>students and an equal number of MScEng students.<BR><BR><BR><BR>////////////////////////////////////////<BR>The golden age of turbulence //<BR>////////////////////////////////////////<BR><BR><BR>The turbulent motion of fluids has captured the fancy of observers of <BR>nature for most of recorded history. The patterns of blowing snow and <BR>torrenti